top of page

Gracie Mae by Laura Lee Eagles



I'm back from the Kansas Doll Show in Wichita, KS and I had such an amazing time! I'll be doing a recap of my first doll show experience soon but today I wanted to introduce one of my newest reborn baby adoptions. Meet Tatiana! She is the Gracie Mae sculpt by Laura Lee Eagles.


This is my first time having a doll sculpt from L.L.E. and I can see why collectors adore her sculpting so much. These little newborn features are so detailed! Jeanna Hughes is the talented artist for Tatiana and owner of Maddie Bugs Reborn Nursery. I had the great honor to chat with the artist over dinner and drinks and talk about her love of reborn dolls and her mastery skills of creating darker skin tones. It's important to me to purchase dolls from reborn artists who take the time to learn how to portray all skin tones with their reborn doll work. Since I make videos discussing reborn dolls on YouTube, I reach a wide variety of collectors and most of them are after dolls that look like them; just like me! It makes recommending an artist to viewers (and friends) easier, when I know the artist can offer. variety of skin tones.


Finding an African American doll at the show was my biggest hope and I am so glad I adopted this cutie!


Artist Photoshoot




Tatiana's Special Details

Jeanna Hughes work stands out from the rest as she often paints reborn babies with life-like skin conditions and differences, such as vitiligo. My Tatiana is painted with hemangiomas. Hemangiomas are benign (non-cancerous) growths made up of a collection of extra blood vessels.


I love how Jeanna created these birth marks in a 3D type way. They truly have a bumpy texture as a real hemangioma would. You can see these birth marks on her belly (near belly button), on her thigh and near her eye. She's beautifully unique! I feel she fits right into my collection next to Becca.


I'm so happy with her. It was love at first sight. Snuggling her at the doll show sealed the adoption deal for sure. Thanks to Jeanna and her helper Suzanne, for making my first in-person baby adoption magical.

6 views0 comments

Comentarios


bottom of page